The candidates who will contest the two parliamentary constituencies in North Ayrshire have been revealed.

Central Ayrshire and North Ayrshire and Arran both returned SNP MPs in 2015 after years of political domination from Labour.

The 2017 snap election will see the four main parties in the UK battle it out on Thursday, June 8, to elect its MPs for the Westminster Parliament.

After the deadline passed last Thursday for the delivery of nomination papers, the confirmed candidates for the Central Ayrshire constituency are:

Caroline Joy Hollins Martin – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Tom Inglis – Scottish Liberal Democrats

Nairn McDonald – Scottish Labour Party

Philippa Whitford – Scottish National Party (SNP).

The candidates for North Ayrshire and Arran are:

Mark Dickson - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Patricia Gibson - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Christopher Rimicans - Scottish Labour Party

David Rocks - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Returning Officer Elma Murray said: “Having recently staged the local council elections, our staff are well prepared for the vote and count in June.

“We were very encouraged by the number of people who turned out to vote earlier this month in the Council elections – indeed the turnout increased by six per cent on the previous election - and I hope that voters will continue to ensure their voice is heard by casting their vote in the Parliamentary election.”

The deadline for registering to vote is Monday, May 22, while the deadline for registering a new postal vote is Tuesday, May 23. For those wishing to apply for a proxy vote, the deadline is Wednesday, May 31.

Voters aged 16 or 17 on June 8 should be aware that while they were eligible to vote in the Council elections, they will not be able to vote in the Parliamentary Election as the minimum voting age is 18. Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm for the Parliamentary Election on June 8.