Loudon Gowf Club hosted the Ayrshire Golf Association’s 39th annual dinner and presentation night last month, with North Ayrshire’s top golfers recognised for their achievements throughout the year.

President Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun) chaired the dinner with top table guests including the presidents and senior officials of the six west of Scotland area associations and Scottish Golf president David Fleming.

There were some recognisable names among the winners, none more so than Louise Duncan of West Kilbride who received an award for her historic year.

Louise became the first Ayrshire player in 83 years to win the British woman’s amateur championship and would later finish in the top 10 at the women’s British Open, winning the Smyth Salver as leading amateur.

Ayrshire Golf Association executive member Liz Keohone accepted the award on Louise’s behalf.

Stuart Easton of Irvine again represented Scotland at the Home Internationals in 2021 and at the end of the season turned professional, gaining a place on the Alps Tour for the forthcoming season.

He was awarded for this accolade but with Stuart presently on tour, his award was accepted by his clubmate Gareth Lamb.

Fellow Irvine golfer Daniel Forbes claimed his prize following a victory at the West of Scotland Strokeplay Championship which took place at Gleddoch.

The popular Ayrshire Handicap League, which is contested by 29 clubs, saw Kilmarnock Barassie and Moorpark face off in the final, following qualifying games.

The Stevenston club emerged victorious and received their trophy for this on the night.

The same club just missed out to local rivals Auchenharvie 88, who won their first ever county title in the knockout edition of the handicap event.

The scratch league was split into three divisions and in a keenly contested first division, Irvine Golf Club won the title for the first time since 2015.

The seniors championship was held in July 2021 at Rowallan Castle Golf Club and Alistair Travers of Irvine Ravenspark won the trophy with a score of 70, by virtue of the better inward half.

Congratulations to the winners from all at the Times.