IRVINE Running Club hosted the annual Cyclists v Harriers race on Sunday and it was a welcome win for the runners after the cyclists had dominated in recent years.

The victory was even sweeter as runners filled the first three places, the first time that anyone can remember this happening in the past twenty years. 2018 marked the 60th consecutive time this unique event has been held since it was started by Irvine YMCA Harriers and Fullarton Wheelers in 1959 and it was good to see a healthy field of 72 competitors take part.

Underfoot conditions on the course, which winds its way from the Marress Sports Field onto the Town Moor and back again, possibly favoured the runners after heavy rain all day on the Saturday but the performances of Calum McKenzie(1st in 26.22), Billy Richardson(2nd in 27.49) and Kenny Neil(3rd in 28.05) were in a class above everyone else. McKenzie of Corstophine AC powered to the front of the field almost from the start and his lead was never under threat. Behind him Richardson of Irvine Running Club and Neil of Ayr Seaforth were nip and tuck for the entire race until the home runner got the better of his Ayr rival on the final lap of Marress to finish runner up and 1st M40 for the second year in a row. The best cyclist on the day was David Hamilton of Walkers CC, who finished fourth in 29.22. Toni McIntosh of Ayr Seaforth was the first lady runner(20th in 32.08) and Aileen Fisher of Ayr Roads CC was the first lady cyclist(30th in 33.58). Other performances by Irvine Running Club were: Paul Lafferty (15th in 31.21), Steven McDougal (18th in 31.52), Colin Miller(24th and 1st M60 runner in 33.05), Owen McWilliams(29th in 33.55), Jim Sneddon(41st in 35.19), Lee Shaw(44th in 36.03), Peter Taylor (66th in 41.58) and Ian McManus (72nd in 74.55).